Manchester United Premier League Betting Preview

Manchester United Betting Odds

Manchester United Betting Preview

The fact that they will be competing in the Europa League is unlikely to give Manchester United’s title odds much of a help, given the impact that Thursday evening football seems to have on some clubs the following weekend.

Should they fail to secure a top four finish after yet more big-money transfer spending, Jose Mourinho’s reputation will be in serious danger given his failings at Chelsea last season.  A top three finish really should be the minimum expectation.

Manchester United are the pre-season favourites for the Europa League and whilst the benefit of winning the competition securing access to the Champions League isn’t to be sniffed at, it has to be remembered that there are eight teams to be parachuted in from the Champions’ League group stage in the New Year that will have something to say about that too.

The domestic cups might be seen as an unnecessary distraction at present, but Mourinho will probably be keen to make a strong defence of the FA Cup.

Transfer Window


  • Eric Bailly (Villarreal)
  • Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Henrikh Mikhitaryan (Borussia Dortmund)


  • George Dorrington (out of contract)
  • Oliver Rathbone (Rochdale)
  • Nick Powell (out of contract)
  • Victor Valdes (Middlesbrough)
  • Joe Rothwell (Oxford United)
  • Tyler Reid (Swansea City)

Manchester United’s record 2015-16

  • Premier League – 5th   
  • FA Cup – winners
  • League Cup – 4th round (Middlesbrough)
  • Champions League – Group stage
  • Europa League – last 16 (Liverpool)

Manchester United fixtures 2016-17

The new-look Manchester United of Jose Mourinho will kick-off their Premier League campaign with a trip to Bournemouth on Sunday 14th August.  It’s south coast opposition again on Friday 19th August when they play host to Southampton.  The Red Devils end their season at home to Crystal Palace on Sunday 21st May 2017.  The two Premier League Manchester derbies are currently scheduled to take place on Saturday 10 September (Old Trafford) and Saturday 25th February 2017 (Etihad Stadium).

Manchester United Betting Tips


It’s the third roll of the dice for Manchester United following the failed appointments of David Moyes and Louis van Gaal, with Jose Mourinho now installed in the job that he has long since coveted. 

Mourinho has already started spouting gibberish as to his supposed willingness to promote youth and was quickly (and inevitably) caught out, but we can no doubt expect more of his tiresome tirades against all and sundry at the first sign of any problems.

It’s already been another transfer window in which Manchester United have thrown money at addressing their problems and there seems little doubt that there will be further additions to the squad before the window closes for business.  

Quite what formation Mourinho will use with Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Wayne Rooney (whom Mourinho has claimed he still regards as a forward), Anthony Martial, Memphis Depay and Marcus Rashford all vying for attacking roles is difficult to know.  The veteran Swede surely has to be a regular starter given both his salary and, one would presume, some contractual obligation that he would have insisted upon prior to signing.

Manchester United Information

  • Official club site:
  • Stadium: Old Trafford
  • Manager: Jose Mourinho
  • Club nickname: The Red Devils
  • Year formed: 1878
  • Club owner: The Glazer family
  • Most League appearances: Ryan Giggs (672)
  • Most League Goals: Bobby Charlton (199)

Manchester Utd Club honours

First Division (until 1992)/ Premier League

Winners (20): 1907–08, 1910–11, 1951–52, 1955–56, 1956–57, 1964–65, 1966–67, 1992–93, 1993–94, 1995–96, 1996–97, 1998–99, 1999–2000, 2000–01, 2002–03, 2006–07, 2007–08, 2008–09, 2010–11, 2012–13

Second Division

Winners (2): 1935–36, 1974–75

FA Cup

Winners (12): 1908–09, 1947–48, 1962–63, 1976–77, 1982–83, 1984–85, 1989–90, 1993–94, 1995–96, 1998–99, 2003–04, 2015–16

League Cup

Winners (4): 1991–92, 2005–06, 2008–09, 2009–10

FA Charity/Community Shield

Winners (20): 1908, 1911, 1952, 1956, 1957, 1965*, 1967*, 1977*, 1983, 1990*, 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2013 (* shared)

European Cup/UEFA Champions League

Winners (3): 1967–68, 1998–99, 2007–08

UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup

Winners (1): 1990–91

UEFA Super Cup

Winners (1): 1991

Intercontinental Cup

Winners (1): 1999

FIFA Club World Cup

Winners (1): 2008